Home cricket Scotland recall Adrian Neill, Michael Leask for Netherlands ODIs

Scotland recall Adrian Neill, Michael Leask for Netherlands ODIs



Three changes to the squad since last international fixtures in December 2019

Scotland have named a 14-man squad for their two-match ODI series away against Netherlands later this month, their first international fixtures since December 2019.

There are three changes from the squad that travelled to the UAE for four Cricket World Cup League 2 fixtures, their most recent international engagement: Josh Davey and Michael Jones both miss out to fulfil county commitments with Somerset and Durham respectively, while Stuart Whittingham was forced to retire with a back injury in September.

Seamers Gavin Main and Adrian Neill, neither of whom won a central contract last month, are both included, while Michael Leask also returns after missing out on the most recent squad. Tom Sole is the only centrally-contracted player to miss out, and is a non-travelling reserve along with Chris Greaves and Oli Hairs.

Scotland returned to training in early April after a period on furlough during the latest Covid lockdown, and head coach Shane Burger said that he had been “impressed by how hard everyone has worked and the energy that we have in the squad at the moment”.

“It’s just great to have cricket to look forward to,” Burger said. “After such a long period without any matches, it’s really important for the guys to get out there and play again. They’re absolutely raring to go. It’s the start of an important six months for us and I know we would like to go out and perform to the expectations that we have set ourselves and also play a brand of cricket that will excite our fans.”

Netherlands are yet to name a squad, but it is unlikely that players will be withdrawn from county contracts for the series. As a result, there will be significant overlap with the ‘A’ team squad currently playing a three-match series in Ireland.

Scotland squad: Richie Berrington, Dylan Budge, Kyle Coetzer (captain), Matthew Cross (wicketkeeper), Alasdair Evans, Michael Leask, Calum Macleod, Gavin Main, George Munsey, Adrian Neill, Safyaan Sharif, Hamza Tahir, Craig Wallace, Mark Watt

Fixtures: 1st ODI – May 19, 2nd ODI – May 21 (both to be played in Rotterdam)


Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here